>Thing #30 – RSS feeds

>I already have Google Reader going with a few select feeds that I like but for the sake of this thing I have added some more feeds just to make it interesting. Most of the feeds I have are from graphic design sites that I go to when I have a little time on my hands to keep myself updated on the latest trends and they are also great when I need some inspiration for designing something.

Because I don’t read my feeds daily I opted not to have them sent to my email. The thought of that makes me shudder. I already get tons of email I have to deal with every day, having the feeds get sent there…. Not a good idea for me. I’d never get anything done if I did that.

I tried the Spreed demo and… well, even though it’s a very cool how it works, it’s not for me. I was bored with it right away. I just didn’t like it. When I read an article, my eyes just brush over the text and if I see any keywords that interest me then I’ll slow down and read it more comprehensively. Plus, as a designer, I’m usually more interested in the way its laid out on the page as a whole and if there are any graphics that go with the story.

Tabloid was very cool, but very slow (considering that the feed I tried the demo on turned out to be 43 pages and very graphic heavy). I tried it in Firefox and didn’t get anything for my efforts, but had better luck when I changed to Explorer. I don’t know if I’ll actually use Tabloid for very much but I’ll keep it in mind for when a great feed comes through that I want to keep. Then I can use Tabloid to turn it into a pdf and then save it in my files to look at when ever I want.

Leave a Reply

