>Things are never easy

>I was just minding my own business. An innocent bystander, …

After I finished brushing my teeth this morning, I wiped my mouth off with a towel. I felt a strange hardness rubbing my lip and my first thought was, gross! a hard toothpaste blob, courtesy of one of the kids.

But then I felt pain. I pulled the towel away to look at it and there, glaring at me, was a black and yellow striped bit of nastiness. I squeezed the towel with all my strength thinking “DIE, DIE, DIE!” then I plunged the towel in the sink and soaked it in water for at least 5 minutes thinking “DROWN, DROWN, DROWN!” How long can a wasp hold it’s breath?

I pulled the towel out of the water, carefully, looking for it.

Careful. Careful.

WTF?

It was gone! I looked for it everywhere but didn’t find it. It didn’t leave the towel, I saw it there. It was still in the towel when I squished it.

My bottom lip is swelling like I just got a shot of botox, and throbbing. My heart’s racing because not only am I a little ticked that I got stung, but I’m also scared to death of bees. And there is one pissed off wasp somewhere in my bathroom.

I looked and looked all over for it, because I didn’t want my kids to have to deal with it, and it was no where to be found. I even wondered if I swallowed it, but no, that couldn’t have happened. It just plain disappeared.

All confused, hurt, and still bleary eyed, I continued to get ready for work, quickly because now, after all that, I was running late.

I pulled out of the driveway and stopped at the stop sign at the end of my street and took a right turn. I get to the end of the street at the next stop sign and, Wait a minute, where am I? Where am I going?

WTF?

I took a wrong turn! I usually take a left turn at the first stop sign. Even my auto-pilot is on the fritz today.

I wonder what the rest of the day will be like.

Leave a Reply

