>Get caught Listening

>I recently succeeded in downloading an audiobook from Overdrive to my Blackberry. The first time I tried it – a while ago, I didn’t do it right. But with much patience and trial and error, I did, somehow, get Anna Karenina downloaded but not with the Overdrive app.

A few months later…

I’m still commuting about 2 hours a day back and forth to work and was getting sick of radio and music in general, so I decided to try Overdrive again. This time, it was a SUCCESS!

First of all, I had to upgrade the Overdrive app on my Blackberry – surprisingly this didn’t take very long at all.

While this was downloading I was browsing the catalog for books that were MP3 compatible. I’m a little disappointed in our limited selection, but it’s better than nothing. I was looking for something short to begin with because I wasn’t sure what my Blackberry could handle. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes volumes I & II came up and I thought that would be a perfect start. I checked those out with my library card and got to the point where you would normally download them to your computer. By this time the Overdrive App was finished so, with the browser on my Blackberry, I navigated to my Overdrive account. Viola! There were the two Sherlock Holmes books ready to download. I clicked on Download and the Blackberry started doing its thing – it took a while to download. The book was in three parts and each part took about 20 minutes to download completely. After they were downloaded, I plugged my Blackberry into my car and listen to the stories during my commute.

I’m Loving it! Now I’m going to try longer books. We’ll see how that goes. I’ll probably have all 415 MP3 formatted books listened to in no time. Hopefully by then we’ll have a larger collection.

Leave a Reply

