>Thing #56 – Linked In (recap)

>I am guilty of being one of those people that started a Linked In account, because someone told me I should and then I ignored it because I didn’t know what to do with it.

Well, now that I revisited my account, updated it, and joined a few groups, my opinion of it has done a 360.

What can I say, I love Linked In.

I’m still not in the business of looking for a new career, but if I were, this would be where I would go. It was the groups that changed my mind. I found some groups to join that matched my interest and have joined in a few discussions. Already I have learned some new things that I want to try for my library. I’ve always wanted to beef up our YouTube channel, now I’m in contact with people who have experience in that and are sharing their knowledge with me. Excellent! I’m in contact with other people that use social media in different ways to advocate their non-profit organizations. Awesome! When I have a little more time I’m going to find some graphic design groups to join, maybe there are some specifically for non-profits or libraries!
If you haven’t given Linked In a chance yet, I highly recommend that you do. And don’t just create the account and ignore it like I did. Use it, learn from it, make new friends, get and give advice, share knowledge, etc. That’s what it’s for!

Leave a Reply

