>Every little bit counts!

>The sweetest thing just happened!

Someone knocked on the office door (I was alone in the office so the door was locked – a girl can’t be too careful!). I went to open the door and saw an elderly gentleman standing there. I apologized for having the door locked to him; he just waved my apology aside and smiled. He said he had a “rather unique” donation to make to the library. With a big grin on his face he handed me a plastic grocery bag with something fairly heavy inside. I looked inside and saw a jar of pennies. His eyes lit up when I pulled the jar out of the bag.

“Oh how nice!” I exclaimed. I asked for his name, he only gave me his first “Curt, just Curt.” When I asked him if there was a story or anything behind the jar of pennies, he just shook his head and said, “No, no story. Just a donation to the library.” Then he walked out of the office.

I don’t know anything about that gentleman, whether he’s wealthy or poor, and frankly, it doesn’t matter. He took the time and energy to bring that jar of pennies to the library and proudly handed it over.  That jar of pennies made me realize that every little bit helps and it means so much more when it’s given happily. Thank you Mr. Curt! Your donation means a lot.

Leave a Reply

