Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Ready Player One

In the not-too-distant future, an eccentric and insanely rich, game programmer creates a virtual reality world that almost the entire world’s population prefers “living” in over real life. When this geek god dies he leaves his legacy to the one who can find it. He created the ultimate Easter egg hunt that takes place in the virtual reality world he created and the first person to find it, wins.

This book had me in it’s grips immediately. I got all the way through level one without stopping. I’m not finished with this book yet but I know it will still get a 5 star rating after I have reached the last page. I can’t wait until tonight when I can lose myself in it again!

Update: I finished the book in two sittings – it was that good. I have been miserable for the last two days at work due to lack of sleep, but, believe me, it was well worth it!

Being a geek girl who was a teenager in the 80’s, I totally related to this book. I loved the references to all the shows and movies I loved when growing up. Oh, if only it were an option back then to go to high school in virtual reality.

This book was just great fun to read!

Leave a Reply

