Customer service makes a big difference on what you think of a store

My husband and I went to Verizon this afternoon during my lunch break. I had a few questions about our Galaxy tab and the lack of steady wireless signal it creates. Of course we didn’t have it with us at the time but thought we could at least talk about it. This nice young gentleman came up to us and started answering our questions, but when we reached a topic he wasn’t sure about he went to some other guys to confirm. One of those guys yelled, from the other side of the room, that it would just be better to bring the Galaxy Tab in and have him look at it since he “didn’t want to fill our heads with complicated instructions. ” The manner in which he said this, and the words he used implied that he didn’t want to be bothered by idiots. You know, one of those know-it-all, “I can do it better than you can even dream of doing it” type of people who won’t take the time to explain anything because “you just wouldn’t understand anyway and it would be just a big waste of my time.”

I was flabbergasted, first that he would actually yell this from across the room, and secondly because he didn’t even take the time to ask us how skilled we were or not – he just assumed that we didn’t know anything about it and couldn’t handle a simple set of instructions. We left immediately, deeply offended. I think the guy standing behind the yelling guy saw the daggers fly from my eyes because he did apologize to us when we left and told us that he appreciates our patience.

A simple google search gave us the directions we were looking for. I want to go back to the store and complain to his supervisor how we were treated. I think maybe this evening…

I have had good customer service from this store before so I won’t take my business elsewhere, this time. I do hope that guy gets fired, or at least a good talking to about how to handle customers.

Leave a Reply

