Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Coraline by Neil GaimanThis story was absolutely fabulous! It’s been on my to-read list for quite a while. It wasn’t until my son brought it up a few days ago that he really liked the story and wanted to see the movie that I pulled if off our shelf and started reading it. Now that I read it, I plan on watching the movie together with my son very soon.

My favorite part of the book was when Coralline was telling the black cat a story about her and her father taking a walk and they came upon a wasp nest. Her father told her to run while he stayed behind to distract the wasps from chasing her until she was far enough a way. For some reason that brief anecdote from her life really struck me. It is nothing I wouldn’t do for my own children’ but it stood out in this story as a beacon of how much her parents really did love her no matter how much they were involved with their careers and other adult stuff.

Leave a Reply

